Some More Greece Sketches

I couldn’t cram any more images into the last post so here are a few stragglers from my sketch book that I coloured or inked since the hols.

I’ve been sort of slack about finishing these off.

Taking photos is actually ruining my life. All I end up doing now is organising & sorting photos. (Not that I don’t enjoy it)

And I have folders and folders I haven’t uploaded on here. Sheesh.

But I’m resolved to sketch & draw more this year, and photo less (lets see how that goes)

Sketch of our hotel in Oia

Sketch of our hotel in Oia

A reputedly nudist beach (off road and very quiet)

A reputedly nudist beach (off road and very quiet)

Right Cliff Closer

Right Cliff Closer

Left cliff

Left cliff

Finished inked sketch of the only church left in the Ancient Agora. I forget how many hundreds of years old this is.

Finished inked sketch of the only church left in the Ancient Agora. I forget how many hundreds of years old this is.

Gorgon & Female Votive in colour

Gorgon & Female Votive in colour

A Gorgon at the Acropolis Museum

A Gorgon at the Acropolis Museum

Female Votive in colour

Female Votive in colour

Previous sketches from Greece here

8 thoughts on “Some More Greece Sketches

  1. Now is your female votary already turned to stone? A supreme act of sacrifice?

    It has an S&M vibe. You didn’t miss that the Gorgon’s a chick, I hope.

    I mean, your Gorgon looks like a broad, but with old headless people it gets hard to tell sometimes.

    Athena’s aegis, I believe, strictly speaking belongs to Zeus, but she’s the one who always borrows it and uses it, so there’s a sort of yin-yang to it from that angle as well. Almost a crossdressing motif.

    • well she is clay in fact, but the gorgon was stone.
      not that the gorgon was a particularly lady like carving – it looked more like a gargoyle. it would make a good party mask

Deranged comments preferred

