My Oevre: Artist Wank

For my birthday the brilliant A4 wrote me this AMAZING academic style bio. (academic yet humorous)

Naturally, this cannot fail to please even the most humble of egos.

(& My ego blossomed delightfully reading it.)

I really can’t write my own: I don’t have the required academic wank in me to do it convincingly.

(Besides that I find artist wank a type of insecurity. I suspect that the writer feels the need to disguise real motive and agenda (or lack thereof) in a waffling wave of academic rubbish. )

In return for such amazing wank A4 will get a portrait (Eventually, I have a back log of work)

As soon as A4 is done with the torturous PhD I’m going to convince her to write a piece of erotic fiction in the style of academic waffle that I will illustrate.

Anyway I don’t know who’d be interested in reading my wank bio but I CANNOT not post it.

It’s fucking excellent! :D

 

Full PDF

The Oevre of JS – Click here to view

Snippet below:

Born in a “small tin shack in Juhu,”1 to artist parents, and trained in the lesser-known Jamnabai School of thought, Shroff is a minority artist of immeasurable talent. Her adolescent experiences of being forcefully ensconced on the beach by the heterosexual Hindu male body, the formative National Institute of Design rejection, as well as the reductive educational milieu forced upon her in her school art class, have shaped her Parsi-lesbian artistic practice.

Her work seeks to foreground what she calls, the besharam. The formation of her own subjectivity can be seen through the lense of the besharam – the drawing of nudes, sex and animal-human hybrids, reify her “discomfort” with her own body. Through her ongoing obsession with the alien persona of Tilda Swinton as well as her bird-people, she pushes the boundaries of what is human, and what is animal. In that sense, her work can be called autobiographical. Her explores the relationship between synaesthesia and bodily cultures. With influences as diverse as E-News and This American Life, her work captures the new tensions distilled from both opaque and transparent discourses of pop culture.

Shroff’s highly vivid work on the relationship between patriarchal transport practices and the eroticization of the violent everyday is a masterpiece of enigmatic exactness. In the Rape Rick (Figure 1.1), she shows how everyday forms of mobility intersect with subjective paranoia transmitted along lines of kinship: i.e. from mother to daughter. Through the garish colours and bodily objects, the work is a problematisation of the relationship between the ideology of feminist protectionism and the expression of sexualised corporeality.

However, careful dissection of the relationship between the “divisibility of communicative interaction and the systemization of the gaze suffers from its artist’s almost complete ignorance of the Frankfurt school.”2 Her most incisive critiques of gender and the performance of feminism can be read in her phantom journal ‘Habits and Hijabs.’

Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 11.42.16

A small snippet from the piece.

 

Artist Wank Generators of Note:

1. http://www.artybollocks.com/

2. http://www.500letters.org/form_15.php

8 thoughts on “My Oevre: Artist Wank

  1. Chaturbation time . . .

    Not bad once it really gets going. Though I have to hope your friend is taking the piss out of you, too, just a WEE bit. “Culture of breeding”. lolz. I have a saying: “‘Social construct’ is just a social construct.”

    And the first rule of the Frankfurt School is that the Frankfurt School does not exist. If we ever happen to share a night together under the same roof (Platonically– dry those tears), then I will whisper into your ear the second rule . . . .

    • I love your sayings and I have no tears being dead inside.

      And I’ll have you know this was a very serious write up for me. I’m going to be handing it out to galleries.

      I do think you and the writer should share a night under the same roof. Non-platonically of course.

      • Well, I was dying to quip: “No way am I having a brown man’s baby, Janine”, but I’m shocked to realize that you’re actually trying to pimp me out to a woman.

        Make sure she throws in something about “Deleuzean desiring machines”, Janine. It’s not print-ready until the desiring machines are in there.

Deranged comments preferred

