The Pregnant Woman Rant

Dear Reader, (singular, of course)

If you are easily offended by extreme views then I would advise you to fuck off to some other pansy-ass blog.

A blog that will talk about butterflies and daisies and kittens and sweets.

Babydog

Babydog

Pregnant women, in general, annoy me.

The “glowing”, the hormones, the weight, the swelling of breasts and feet and the distended stomachs disgusts me.

But I have learnt to moderate my feelings. If women are willing to subject themselves to this, then good luck to them.

Don’t get me wrong, kids are alright, (at a distance) and I would even go so far as to say that one child I can understand (to a degree). But when it’s two or three I can’t imagine why any woman would want to do this to herself.

Mummy

Mummy

What in particular irritates me is the complete smugness with which they regard themselves. As if shunting out one child after another is an accomplishment.

When I do express my feelings of incredulousness (which is often, and not really a word) they smile and say patronisingly,

“Oh but when you have your own baby you’ll understand.”

Assuming, but of course, that by possessing a functioning uterus automatically makes you a future mother. But like I have mentioned before, I have learnt to temper my opinions. There will always be mothers and child bearers and housewives in general.

Babies

Babies

However when pregnant women start taking public transport that’s when there’s trouble (in my opinion).

Does being pregnant mean you are automatically entitled to a seat? If it is a choice we make, to bear a child, why is that fundamentally different from any other kind of choice?

For example, if I choose, rather unwisely, to carry around my laptop and 4 kilos of hard bound library books, does that mean I ought to be given a seat on the tube purely because I made stupid decision?

No one chooses to be either elderly or disabled. Therefore rationally they should be offered a seat. (so I believe anyway)

But it really pisses me off that pregnant women seem to expect that they get to sit, purely because they carry around a parasite.

What about maternity leave if you don’t have kids? What about extra holiday time for us single people, instead of rewarding these persistent breeders who inflict the already over-populated planet with yet another child?

What about benefits to people who don’t recklessly pop out one brat after another just to fill the time?

What enrages me almost equally, as the expectation that if you’re ‘with child’ you get a seat on public transport, is the sense of imposed guilt you are made to feel if you don’t believe that pregnant women are somehow doing all of us a great big favour by fucking off from work and getting paid to over-populate, and this idea that childless women are seen as somewhat sad, barren, somehow misguided creatures.

If you are perhaps thinking “Well you were once a child, and your mother was once pregnant…” I would reply that it was her choice and therefore her problem. I am joyfully childless.

You must watch Little Angels and Supernanny (I love Supernanny). Will make you want to wrench out your ovaries and/or testicles.

I read an advertisement in a bar loo last week that tried to coax you to visit to a health clinic. It stated that 1 in 10 people had chlamydia and didn’t know it. Chlamydia can present no symptoms for years and if left untreated could make you infertile. Bring it on, I thought.

If you are perhaps thinking that I should visit a therapist, perhaps you are right.

As you must have gathered by now, I am pro-choice.

21 thoughts on “The Pregnant Woman Rant

  1. hate is a strong word. I wouldnt go that far, but breeders are given an unfair advantage over single people or child-free people. The govt. supports then, pays them, they get benefits, they get tax reductions they get fucking maternity leave. and they still want my tube seat. I mean fucking come on.and the world doesn’t even need more people. It bugs me that I wont get any advantages purely because I’m not squirting out baby after baby. Having a uterus does NOT make you special

  2. To-be-mothers use guilt yes, usually by just BEING visibly pregnant. But that doesn’t stop anyone else from exploiting this ‘flaw’ in human nature as well.Next time you’re standing on a bus or a train with a heavy bag you carried (out of choice), look at the person seated next to you and say “My bag is really heavy, and I’m really tired, do you mind if I sit down for a little while. I’ll get up if you get too tired standing.”I can bet 9/10 times the other person will stand up and let you sit (the 10th person being a pregnant woman).I think you’re just bitter about the fact that pregnant women don’t have to ask.

  3. I of course, am bitter of the fact that on a BEST bus, when there are 16 FUCKING seats reserved ONLY for women, they choose NOT to sit there first, and fill the other seats up instead.

  4. firstly i would never ask no matter how much shit I’m carrying. everybody works, everyone carries stuff everyone is tired.secondly its not that they don’t need to ask.if you feel they should get your seat thats your business, but the expectation that they OUGHT to get a seat bugs me.i have no opinion [currently] about BEST busses.the last time i was on one i got felt up and have since refused to go back. although riddhi says this is only on the santa cruz station busses. who knows.

  5. <>firstly i would never ask no matter how much shit I’m carrying. everybody works, everyone carries stuff everyone is tired.<>That’s mighty fair of you.A friend of mine once go masturbated on by a drunk man on a BEST bus. (Route 79, at Mahim causeway). When he was discovered, he pushed through the crowded bus, penis hanging out and all, and ran away.

  6. holy crap thats the worst BEST story I’ve ever heard. [what a great sentence if i do say so myself]why didn’t anyone chase this renegade masturbator and beat the shit out of him?i feel like taking a shower just hearing about it.

  7. Well said janine, fuck babies, let’s kill them all!! and pregnant women!! they should be rounded up and shot! How dare they go through the depression, sickness, pains and agonies to bring new life into this world, how dare they dream to add some warmth and joy to their relationships by starting a family.. In fact, fuck humanity!

  8. soz, got carried away there.. true, orphanages are full up, but that’s an entirely different matter. Many couples like to bring something extra into their relationships and start families, it’s just something we’ve gotta accept. Many couples say the best day(s) of their life was when their child/children were born; there must be something special about creating a baby together… and now i’m sounding like a woman, lol. Similar rants about the benefits they recieve are made about asylum seekers, the poor, the disabled etc. It’s a welfare state, deal with it.

  9. “orphanages are full up, Many couples like to bring something extra into their relationships and start families”Being selfish is not a reason to accept anything. I CAN accept that the biological clock is tough to fight. That still doesn’t mean I agree with it.“Similar rants about the benefits they recieve are made about asylum seekers, the poor, the disabled etc. It’s a welfare state, deal with it.”Good for them if they want 6 kids.but I refuse to agree with supporting something that is actively a negative. over population is going to destroy the world, not deforestation, not aids, not cancer, not war blah blahyes it is a welfare state, both a positive and a negative.and as far as the rest of my life goes its probably a negative. [and anyone else who is single, responsible and possibly childfree] and i can deal with it, it just pisses me off.Did you know an 11 year old is having a baby in the UK? Holy crap.if as you say many couples think a baby is the most wonderful thing they’ve even done then why the hell are they stealing my joy?? “Many couples say the best days of their life was when their children were born; there must be something special about creating a baby together” ..They certainly don’t need any more.but really. this is all moot. single, childfree, responsible people will always finish last and be screwed over on the way there. thats that.but do these breeders STILL [on top of everything] EXPECT a tube seat?????? [expect is the word that bugs me really]

  10. U are confusing many issues, such as under-age pregnancies and over-population. The issue of over-population is entirely different to ur previous rant and it is one which i happen to agree with. I think that is more to do with breaking stigmas to do with talking about sex and contraception, and educating the masses. Having said that, I heard that in this country more women are choosing careers over families and that there will be less babies produced in the future than there are at the moment. I do think that 2 kids are more than enough though. As for giving up ur seat, unless ur really bugged by them, make a stand (by staying seated, hehe) and refuse to give up ur seat if u feel so strongly about it. And I really really don’t think single childfree people will always finish last just because u didn’t get ur seat on the tube, a lot of times they sacrifice careers and stay in nasty marriages just to raise their children. Ah if only u were around when sanjay gandhi needed campaigners for his draconian steralisation programme! A career in politics looms for u.. i fear..p.s, I always wondered why the seats on those bombay buses were so sticky(!)

  11. under aged pregnancy, women who are 45 women who are 28 either way I don’t really care. my problem mainly is, and I’m going to repeat myself here “Is the sense of imposed guilt you are made to feel if you DON’T believe that pregnant women are somehow doing all of us a great big favour by fucking off from work and getting paid to over-populate.” which is in a nutshell what I believe. altho the 11 year old I mentioned purely because its such a freaky thing. and its such a fun fact.yes, responsible people do finish last, in a welfare state especially. not just because i don’t get a seat on the tube. thats just a symptom. We’re not going to get 3 months paid maternity leave, we wont get benefits, heck even as a man that should bug you, that a pregnant woman gets maternity leave and a man doesn’t get paternity leave. of course all businesses would go down the tube. not literally of course. but its fun to think of it.i don’t believe cheating people into being sterilized is right, but benefits should be given for people who do have smaller families as in incentive. unfortunately that wont happen anytime soon. [except china]maybe in 50 years when the world doesn’t have a choice.I’m too extreme to be a politician. and besides this speech wouldn’t go down well with a majority of voters being women.

  12. I don’t really see an imposed guilt and I don’t think these women think they are doing everyone a favour by getting pregnant. There is already widespread discrimination amongst employers towards these women and some have been surreptitiously getting the sack for getting preggers. I wouldn’t say it bugs me that men don’t get paternity pay, but yes there is an argument for it. I think we need a pregnant woman to make a contribution to this debate now, lol.Incentives for people to keep small families.. now ur talking sense. That’s a very good idea, is that happening anywhere?

  13. imposed guilt?? absolutely. the idea that people think getting pregnant and “bring new life” is a favor to the world?in general, yes they do.and your first comment pretty much stated it all.. “How dare they go through the depression, sickness, pains and agonies to bring new life into this world, how dare they dream to add some warmth and joy to their relationships by starting a family” but its an opinion.i disagree with that & there’s no point arguing it further. blah blahi think china does have incentives for smaller families. India cant do it for obvious economic reasons. but Britain could. but the voters would never go for it since women outnumber men by 2 to 1.

  14. OMG such an awesome post. It could have been written by me. Im a closet-anti-breeder-person, and I feel like you’ve voiced every thing I’ve felt and never articulated!

  15. Pingback: The Breeding Has Begun | Tin Roof Press

Deranged comments preferred

