Tuesday Crit

Today we met at the Mall Galleries, the scene of the MACD art show to critique all the work of the year ahead of us.

I usually dread these ‘crit’ days. It’s excruciating trying to avoid sounding like a miserable bitch, (which for me is especially hard).

I have only now come to realise that it’s easy tearing work apart when the artists are not around.

Trying to be nice is rarely a problem behind someone’s back.

Foz gave us a list of criteria upon which to judge. (According to his list not a single student would ever get a distinction.)

1. Originality (fairly dubious and suspect to personal taste)
2. Presentation
3. Entertainment (for me one of the most important criteria but not exclusively)

…boy, blogging is a great way to rant about pure rubbish isn’t it?

I mean does anyone truly care what the criteria are or what the hell I even think about the work? Not that you would have seen any of it anyway.

But being a selfish person, I plan on subjecting you to my vent anyway.

4. Communication (or mis-communication)
5. Research (does it look well researched?)
6. Skill
7. Ambition (also important)
8. Level of inquiry
9. Aesthetic vs. content

So based on these 9 points most people are going to get trashed. Rather unfairly occasionally.

The one major bone of contention (for me), was this performance piece thing.

I despise all performance art, purely on principle, from David Blaine to mimes – Although they might be temporarily entertaining, they also have about the same artistic value as watching Big Brother.

Gay guy works in a sauna, has fun, goes out, takes a few photos, chucks some black varnish on a box, dances around it a bit and hey there you go! A work of art.

What fucking shit, the lazy wank. For some reason some people thought this was great. (Foz defended him, but when I asked him how last minute it all was Foz was forced to admit his final piece was a little.)

Fucking performance artists. Lazy bastards. That gay sauna thing really pisses me off the more I think about it.

Anna said she has suddenly become really scared of Foz. She can’t talk to him anymore. She said it was perhaps because she wanted him to like her or think she’s funny. (Much like how I feel about that sexy bitch, Ken Hollings *sigh*)

Foz IS sort of terrifying, if you’re late.

Laura J. Middlehurst

Claire Scully

Rosemary Mills

Emily Warren

Anne-Louise Knudsen

Takayo Akiyama

Margaux Luzuriaga

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Crit

  1. dude. to begin with, that was the most brilliabnbt blog spot i have ever seen in my life, specially “…boy, blogging is a great way to rant about pure rubbish isn’t it? I mean does anyone truly care what the damn criteria are or what the hell I even think about the work? Not that you would have seen any of it anyway. But being a selfish person, I plan on subjecting you to my vent anyway.”secondly, mimes rock, it’s blaine with an i and DOOODE!: big brother is most amazing thing on the face of this miserably fucked up planet. having said that, i agree, performance art is rubbish.third: ken is a sexy bitch?

  2. mimes rock?? mimes rock??????? when did you get a lobotomy?big brother stinks. its even worse this year. but thank god monty has a tv card on his comp. I am not subjected to that shit more than last year.ken is so cute. and so sexy. he’s my real life equivalent to hugh laurie.

Deranged comments preferred

