Cleanliness is next to Godliness

Our Hoover - This made the cleaner very happy

The cleaner just left the flat. I was scolded for forgetting to buy bleach for the loo. (The ex ratted me out). The cleaner looked at me very reproachfully, but also in a way, like this was what she expected of me. (The cleaner’s already figured out who is the competent one, that is to say, not me)

The cleaner is Bulgarian and a trained Economist. She’s very particular, very thorough (the ex loves her) and a bit odd. She once said to me “Oh my goodness, there is so much dust!” like, yeah, hello? Why else would we have called you? What does she expect? A clean house?

She gets very nervous when we squabble, she and asks us not to do it in front of her. Like she’s the troubled child of our marriage.

I told the ex I was writing about the cleaner.

The ex says I should write about how much she hates bloggers.

8 thoughts on “Cleanliness is next to Godliness

  1. love the imagery. could make an amausing ad campaign…along with the story. is that your hand? looks very pedicured and ladylike delicate…use the hoover and your hands will always be beautiful!

    • of course i didn’t take the picture silly!

      and it is an ad campaign – for the hoover – my hoover is’nt worth taking a photo of – also its in a cabinet
      of course i dont have hands like that either – my hands are fat and stubby

  2. well, it was in the morning, late night, eyes groggy… my enthusiasm for your unending talents overcame visual logic. but, atleast i recognised it’s ad potential!

  3. Pingback: The Ex Top Ten « Tin Roof Press

  4. Pingback: I was never destined for house work | Tin Roof Press

  5. Pingback: Friday Fight Night | Tin Roof Press

  6. Pingback: Saturday Morning Scoldings | Tin Roof Press

Deranged comments preferred

