Angel Antiques Market, Camden Passage

On a sunny weekend the Antique and Junk market in Camden Passage is a lovely place to go for a stroll.

There’s a wide range of silver, faux silver, vintage clothes (some over priced, a tad too much fur – rather shabby rabbit), costume jewellery, old magazines, a suitcase full of scissors (who is buying that?), an entire wooden box of spoons (for the spoon collectors I imagine), old stamps, empty boxes, tiny silver cream jugs, candle stick holders, wooden seals, old prints, just all sorts of stuff.

Sometimes the vendors bring their dogs and it’s fun to pet them while looking through what is largely tat.

What’s exciting about looking through reams and reams of tat is that occasionally, just occasionally, you find something that is pretty darn sweet.

The ex and I once had a massive row over some junk. I know, most of our arguments are ludicrous, this one was no exception. (This was ages ago. Now we just fight about imaginary stuff)

I saw something the ex had glossed over as ‘rubbishy rubbish’ and when I went to get cash to pay for it the ex went and bought it. Man, I was pissed! Almost irrationally pissed.

There was a cold front for a little while but we eventually kissed and made up. The ex doesn’t notice things until you sift through all the tat and when you’ve finally found something, then decides it’s worth liking.

Anyway I went on a photo spree a couple of sunny weekends ago. One vendor reproached me gently for taking photos of her stuff. I suppose I should have asked. Naughty naughty.

So I bought a silver Moon face broach from her so that was sort of my apology. (Well, I wanted that broach anyway.) I’ve decided to start a brooch collection.

Found a silver sea-horse broach a while ago, as well as a mounted Grouse foot. My mother saw the Grouse’s foot and squealed in horror. So the next year I got her one for herself. (Because that’s just the kind of daughter I am – Enjoys horrifying mother.)

She has yet to wear it.

One of the Stalls just before you go into Camden Passage

One of the stalls just before you go into Camden Passage

Broaches on muslin

Broaches on muslin

Some Old Posters at the same stall. He also sell vintage toys.

Some Old Posters at the same stall. He also sell vintage toys.

1920's Broach Closeup

1920’s Broach Closeup

Broaches Collage. I rather like the Scottish feathery one.

Broaches Collage. I rather like the Scottish feathery one.

One of the stalls opposite the Camden head

One of the stalls opposite the Camden head

Marcasite Necklaces. Or some junk.

Marcasite Necklaces. Or some junk.

Sun & Moon & Clock broaches.

Sun & Moon & Clock broaches.

Scottish Broaches

Scottish Broaches

Sign Board & Yellow Typewriter

Sign Board & Yellow Typewriter

Rocking Dog

Rocking Dog

Boy Holding Dog Outside Tesco's

Boy Holding Dog Outside Tesco’s. I love the dog’s expression.

Boy Holding Dog Outside Tesco's

Boy Holding Dog Outside Tesco’s

The Breakfast Club in the Evening

The Breakfast Club in the Evening

Breakfast Club Window. I like the way the light looks from the outside set against the yellow.

Breakfast Club Window. I like the way the light looks from the outside set against the yellow.

Camden Head Pub

Camden Head Pub

Camden Passage street empty.

Camden Passage street empty.

Camden Passage. Took ages to get a not so shaky shot.

Camden Passage. Took ages to get a not so shaky shot.

Milky Way Store Window

Milky Way Store Window

Milky Way Store Window. Like the light here too.

Milky Way Store Window. Like the light here too.

15 thoughts on “Angel Antiques Market, Camden Passage

  1. You just satisfied my urge to look at junk. Tomorrow I will go to my favorite flea market to satisfy it again. It’s a daily urge, you know. I must fiddle with junk and touch each piece of clothing on a rack and try old hats on at least once a day.

  2. My kind of place. I particularly liked the Scottish brooches, the worn out rocking dog and the boy holding the dog outside Tescos.
    Oh,yes and the lit bars and shops were very ‘nice’ too….

    My house is starting to look like a flea market…sometimes I question whether I have a problem with collecting things that the majority would class at tat. Oh well, I live alone so there’s nobody to complain about it, apart from the dog!

    • thats lucky! i have to consider the space before i purchase anything. I really want to buy an old box. a nice big one. but i havent the room. Brooches and magnets will have to do.

  3. oo takes me back to my student days in the 1970’s when I scoured Camden for the same stuff! Bought some lovely jet pieces back then – probably worth a lot more now 🙂

  4. Sweet-arse brooches. Today I am wearing one of my proudest antique-centre finds: my ugly orchid brooch. It’s big and silver and at first glance looks kind of like a monster with something weird drooping out of it’s mouth, and at second glance looks like a monstrous flower that even your nanna would say no to. x

Deranged comments preferred

