Pssst! Hey! You – Yes You. Wanna See My Stash?

Yo, you wanna check out my stash man? It’s good stuff. Promise.

The living room TV cabinet has 4 small shelves built into it. 3 belong to the ex. But one is mine, all mine. MU WAH HAH HA!

That shelf has books stored 2 rows deep, with some piled up on top for good measure.

I mask both rows with a single facade of ‘acceptable’ books and the Cartland’s live behind this facade. At least in the Living room…

Living room small stash.

Living room small stash. One rogue Poirot here.

The real stash, the good stuff, is right under the bed.

The books are stacked 2 rows deep under the bed, and 3 rows deep in the side table cabinet. (Small stash of Heyers as well. Barbs can’t get everything.)

I ran out of space eventually so I packed away all my shoes (I’ve worn one pair of shoes for a year. In a way it makes getting dressed for work easier.)

I ran out of space there too, so now I also have a little tower of books hidden in my desk.

I feel like such a junkie.

Under the Bed. 3 rows deep. 2 small towers of the Heyers on the left. BC's behind

Under the Bed. 2 rows deep. Tower and a half of Heyers on the far left, BC’s behind. Cabinet on the right all BC’s

Cabinet Close up. 3 Deep.

Cabinet Close up. 3 Deep.

Under the bed closeup. (Slightly blurry)

Under the bed closeup. (Slightly blurry)

42 thoughts on “Pssst! Hey! You – Yes You. Wanna See My Stash?

  1. Haha, my apartment looks the same way, books in the kitchen, in the livingroom, in the bedroom, in closets, on the window sill…but I wouldn’t call it an addiction. I can quit whenever I want to…I promise…

  2. Bloody hell! That is a lot of books. Have you heard of a flashy, sleek looking electronic device called ‘Kindle’? It’s only been the ‘new book’ for the last 2 years and virtually takes up no space at all! Hahaha! Only kidding….you definitely love reading, don’t you?

  3. Oh! I’m in the tribe of obsessive one-author collecting. My particular fetish is Agatha Christie (and my eye darts unerringly to those, hidden amongst the Barbara Cartlands.) I don’t know your Ms Cartland, but after seeing the depth of your devotion, I think I might give her a spin. Where should I start?

    • Hey Me too! I took the other 70 i bought in a lot back to bombay (Agatha christie) I was just thinking I’d like to own all the Poirots. I’m not big on any other detective.

      The depth of my devotion can be seen by some as a debilitating mental illness.

      Because she writes really badly. I mean really. And you are a good writer who may be published. So I’m wary of suggesting anything.

      You can read 2 pages here to give you a flavour. https://tinroofpress.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/fugitive-of-love-deaft-mute.jpg

      I’d recommend Georgette Heyer if you like Jane Austen type stuff.
      (The one I re-read the most was These Old Shades)

      BC – you can really start just about anywhere. There are only 2-3 plots repeated in all the books. My favs are Never Laugh at Love, Race for Love – Punishment of love was the most disturbing. (Rape repeatedly = love. Seriously fucked up)

  4. I am glad I’m not the only BC obsessed person around. I live in the US and very few people know who BC is. Thus, my almost 100 BC books are proudly displayed on my bookshelves and no one is aware of my penchant for romances involving tall, dark, handsome, insanely rich men and young, big-eyed, noble-born but poor innocents with breathy conversation. Ha!

      • BC books were my first foray into romance novels which required reading them in the privacy of the bathroom or under the sheets, far too long ago to mention specific dates. I rediscovered them a couple of years ago browsing through Amazon.com and fell in love all over again with Francis Marshall’s cover art. That was the start of my addiction. (I wish I still had several of the “original” ones I used to own way back when.)

        • I think that you probably do have to start reading these at an impressionable age. or so it seems when i speak to anyone who reads BC’s.

          The Francis Marshall illustrations are my favourites. They are always beautiful. I always feel cheated somehow when I get the ones with hard plain red covers or the shittier illustrations. I never owned any before. Then years later I happened to find a charity shop selling 2 large stacks for about 10p each. The start of the madness.

  5. WTF? You ousted SHOES for BOOKS? Now, I”m just as into books as the next guy, but sheeeesh, don’t touch my shoes. (And now you must include a pic of said shoes, lest I begin to think you are a mythological creature.)

    • I’m a creature of habit, one pair of shoes worn until they die, one jacket until it dies, one pair of jeans worn for a month. And so on. I’d post a pic of my boots but they are fairly normal black knee high leather equestrians. Nothing exciting.

  6. OMG, the titles! ‘A Virgin in Paris’. ‘Flowers for the Love of God’! Ahaha. The sweetest collection ever ^^

    • I know! Don’t forget the Love Pirate. Slaves of Love, Prisoner of love and Love is a Rainbow (which really should have been a gay storyline). Sometimes the titles are the best part. After the illustrations. And plot errors.

  7. These photos make me feel so good about my Mills & Boons, which have been likened by a co-habiter as cockroaches because they never seem to get over and pop up anywhere, everywhere, unexpectedly. Mine only crowd one shelf and the belly of one table. We will not get into the fact that I give sacks of books away to charity every couple of months and 90% of those books are Mills & Boons that even I can’t bear to re-read.

    • I almost feel bad you don’t keep them, I can imagine all the Mills & Boons stacked up would be deeply pleasing. But also where do you get so many in bulk? Are you buying lots? – btw how much head way did you make in the Heyers?

      • Strictly visually speaking, I prefer the old Mills & Boons, which came in different colours and had illustrated covers. These new ones are all blue and have models, which is … cringe-worthy on occasion and tacky. I confess, I buy about 6 every month. Sigh. They used to be Rs. 80 and are now Rs. 125. You know, I started the Heyer and while it was amusing in parts, it just felt a bit tedious. Perhaps I should have picked a different one to start with.

          • I really don’t like it when they don’t use illustrations. I havent read a Mills & Boons yet. Admittedly the one you wrote about, with the cheesy Bandra based romeo in a green shirt sounds hilarious I might try it. But is there sex in that one? I’m very chaste. I like the sex to be between chapters.

            • I didn’t end up reading the whole Indian Mills & Boon and I hope I’m never so addicted that I pick it up. I like my pulp to be entertaining, exotic and entirely incredible, thank you very much. This boy from Bandra as a hero — not interested. Give me the Greek millionaire with the impossible aquiline nose, or the sheikh from a fictitious Middle Eastern kingdom (one was called Kahani. I’m certain the writer knew the Hindi connection).
              Anyway, you were asking about the sex. It varies from writer to writer but yeah, quite a few are anything but chaste. Most will have at least one, entirely skip-able sex scene.

              • Reading about sex is so much more intimate than watching sex. Because the sex is right there in your brain as opposed to the tv screen. There is no detaching from it, and if its badly written thats even worse.

Deranged comments preferred

