Portobello Market Photos

Portobello is pretty close to work and I usually get a takeaway from the same place every single day and take it to the park (weather permitting).

I’ve been oscillating between Falafel King and Makan across from it, for lunch for nearly a year now.

(Falafel King – Freshly made falafel as you wait + home-made salad and sauce. It’s the only thing they make and they do it well. Makan)

I eat at one place exclusively for months, a loyal regular, then abruptly switch to its neighbour.

When I go back after a long stint away they always look at me reproachfully and say

“You havent been here for so long!”

“Oh! It hasn’t been that long… has it?

“Yes yes, very long.”

Then I feel like I’ve cheated on them

The park nearby is a hot-bed of drama. There are a steady group of afternoon drunks, both men and women, drinking lager and squabbling loudly. Every now and then a cop strolls by to scold one of them.

Once they had to get rid of a man who was lying face down on the grass with his pants and underwear pulled down below his bum.

So far I’ve resisted the temptation to buy junk I don’t need from the market. I wanted to buy this empty cigar box, but the guy wouldn’t sell it to me because it was full of ‘vintage’ cue tip chalk.

I know. I had never heard of ‘vintage’ cue tip chalk before either. Apparently there is.

He then gave me a 5 minute spiel on the relative worthlessness of the box compared to all the beautiful used ‘vintage’ cue tip chalk from the 40’s and 50’s (or so he told me). I didn’t have the heart to tell him I’d only buy it and end up chucking the cue tips.

So I just didn’t buy it. Let some eager pub landlord with a pool table invest. Maybe he can frame them. Would look pretty nice if he did.

Still looking for a wooden box.

Portabello Farmer's Market Sign

Portabello Farmer’s Market Sign

Market stalls empty as the market winds up

Market stalls empty as the market winds up

Shadows

Shadows

Banksy Portobello

Banksy Portobello

Basket with large metal plate

Basket with large metal plate

Green stone pig among garden pots

Green stone pig among garden pots

Rather like the pig. If only I had a garden.

Rather like the pig. If only I had a garden.

Coins & a painting of a sherpa

Coins & a painting of a sherpa

Table of junk

Table of junk

Stone Necklace Closeup

Stone Necklace Closeup

Coloured Pots

Coloured Pots

Brass ware

Brass ware

Stalls under the sun

Stalls under the sun

Handmade T-Shirts in a stall

Handmade T-Shirts in a stall

Odd Green Dress

Odd Green Dress

Nepalese Top

Nepalese Top

More Stalls

More Stalls

Cat T-shirt

Cat T-shirt

Trunk full of Junk

Trunk full of Junk

A small pug on a rug. It is like a Dr. Seuss poem

A small pug on a rug. It is like a Dr. Seuss poem

Pug on Rug Black & White.

Pug on Rug Black & White.

Notice outside Makan, my regular lunch place.

Notice outside Makan, my regular lunch place.

Westbourne Park Tube at Sunset

Westbourne Park Tube at Sunset

Westbourne Park Stairwell suddenly transformed in gold

Westbourne Park Stairwell suddenly transformed in gold

29 thoughts on “Portobello Market Photos

    • I can’t decide if I want artistic piles of junk or streamlined minimalism. My personal love of junk compels me to collect things and then horde them but I want the homes in the photos on pinterest, match cousins and elegantly framed art. Damn those people and their show homes

  1. I have a green coat. Spent weeks looking for it, and I ended up spending a phenomenal amount of of money for it, but it’s a work of art and everyone always notices it. I love being noticed.

    Hint, hint.

    • I’d let you have it because I don’t have a home or garden and that pig deserves a nice garden. (I think one of your blog posts said you had a beautiful garden?)
      I imagine that green pig would look lush hidden in some foliage.

  2. Love these photos. (It’s taken me forever to load these. I’ve been trying to get to comments for the past two days. Crap internet connection.) I want that suitcase full of books. It would look so good in any room, minimalist or cluttered.

  3. Thanks for this post. 30 years ago I used to work just off Portobello Road and spent my lunch hour cruising the market & buying unpopular antiques – now the only unpopular antique is me !!

Deranged comments preferred

