Sketch Book – Goan Tiger (I mean Leopard)

This is a sketch I did in Goa, then ruined, then reconstructed.

There was this temple somewhere in Goa with a crude leopard and lion statue guarding its entrance. So when we got back to our huts I tried sketching it.

Initial sketch

Initial sketch

I botched my first attempt drawing it.

So I drew another version above the first.

But I dislike ruined pages in my sketchbook so I decided to paint over the botched drawing in an attempt to rescue it somewhat.

My desk and my sketch book after I painted over the ruined page.

My desk and my sketch book after I painted over the ruined page.

Make shift paint palette with hardened acrylic (the inside cover of my pencil kit) & a Xerox of MJ with masked children.

Make shift paint palette with hardened acrylic (the inside cover of my pencil kit) with a xerox of MJ and his masked children.

My trust water colour pencils. Quite old now and generally neglected in favour of my felt pens and crayons.

My trusty water colour pencils. Quite old now and generally neglected in favour of my felt pens and crayons.

Goa Tiger Sketchbook Final

Goa Tiger Sketchbook Final. Colour Pencils top & Acrylic bottom.

The ex said they prefered the botched page now because it looked very childish.

I rather like them both next to each other, in tandem as a contrast.

15 thoughts on “Sketch Book – Goan Tiger (I mean Leopard)

  1. I like the background of the botched one and the tiger of the non-botched. And I love the makeshift paint palette.

  2. I love all the details in the second attempt! And I agree about how cool the “manicures” look. Now I’m eying my sleeping cat, wondering if I just went really slowly…

Deranged comments preferred

