Letter Heads: Round 2

I didn’t realise when I spent ages (seriously fucking ages) getting just the right level of opacity right for the grey footer bars on the Letter heads from round 1, was that home printers cannot print anything like that without you then having to manually crop it.

(Yesterday evening I just used v.2 without the grey background for the letters I needed for my visa. But I’m still trying to fine tune them.)

So fine. No background colours.

Has to be all white.

Ugh.

Seriously. I HATE printers.

It kept trying to resize the letter into an A5. Even though all the settings were right.

A designer at work who frequently does stationary pointed out that the centrally justified one would work better in an envelope as when you open the envelope the header with the name would appear first.

She has a very good point there.

Turns out, I might have to use that one after all.

Letter Head 4 - This is the one I used to print out some Visa letters

Letter Head 4. I simplified the scribble on the left.

Letter Head 5

This actually might just be the one that works best on a home printer.

Letter Head 6

I quite like the footer. Not keen on the header.

Letter Head 7

Don’t like this that much. But whatever. Worth a shot.

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mom. God I love her work

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mom. God I love her work

While trawling the internet a few weeks ago I came across the work of Yuku Shimizu.

So today I just thought I’d read her FAQ:

Does anyone agree with statement below? I read it and felt a bit depressed.

“Micron is a fake sibling of Rapidograph, Rotring, and nib pens. Ballpoint pens are for writing, not for drawing. Markers are toy version of watercolors. Crayons are pastels for kindergarten kids. Colored pencils are not made to color surface bigger than 1square centimeters. These mediums make you lazy as an artist.

Rapidohgraph, nib pens, watercolors and other paint medium, pastel, etc are hard to use and take a long time to learn to be good at. But when you master them, it allows you to do 100X more than the cheap fake mediums do.

When you are in school, you can make mistakes. You learn by making mistakes and become a better artist. In the real world, you cannot make mistakes or you will loose a client forever.

If they learn the real medium and at the end come to a conclusion that a ballpoint pen is the only medium that works for them, then I would be happy for them, really. (And, I do love Hope Gangloff‘s work.)”

But does snobbery against a medium have anything to do with the end result? Personally I’m not sure it does.

Someone else I mentioned this to, pointed out this biro artist by way of example to support the medium, but frankly I must confess I rather feel that that kind of supports Yuku’s point. I mean it’s good technique, but they are just straight copies from photographs. It just does nothing for me. I appreciate the technique but that’s where it stops. As an exercise it’s great, as more, I don’t know.

Bear in mind, I’m talking about this in an age where we have photography, and technique although important, isn’t as vital as say painting an accurate portrait of the future bride of the King of England.

I suppose my view on this isn’t limited to only ball pen medium – I feel the same way about Hyperrealism. I admire the painting but there doesn’t seem to be anything there that I will remember beyond that.  I feel the same about Vanitas. (Maybe I’m a snob too.)

To return to her statement I don’t understand what she is trying to say about the mediums.

“Micron is a fake sibling of Rapidograph, Rotring, and nib pens. Ballpoint pens are for writing, not for drawing. Markers are toy version of watercolors. Crayons are pastels for kindergarten kids. Colored pencils are not made to color surface bigger than 1square centimeters. These mediums make you lazy as an artist.”

On one hand in another statement, she says she doesn’t like to paint, and just uses black waterproof ink on paper then colours it in with photoshop.

On the other hand she has all these snobby things to say about other mediums. So I don’t understand her stance or the basis for it.

In any case, even though I don’t agree with what she says, (she ends with a sort of caveat) and there are so many artists I love who use so called ‘cheap’ mediums, I still felt a bit depressed when I read that.

4 thoughts on “Letter Heads: Round 2

  1. Im a big fan of Yuko Shimizus work, I have posted about her myself ages ago. I dont think I agree with her statement, it is a bit snobby. For her displayed work you do have to know how to use those mediums but its a matter of preference. What is ‘art’ really?

    • I don’t respect that statement of hers.

      An oil painter would say using ink and photoshop is equally ‘cheap’ and ‘lazy’.

      It’s really a ludicrous statement to make.

      I do love her work but I also lost a little admiration for her after reading that. Especially since she hasn’t really explained why she thinks her ink is less ‘cheap’ than a biro.

  2. Ugh. I got a little bit sick reading that. (I went and read the whole FAQ). I like the work too, but I hate when established artists/writers say this is what you HAVE to do to succeed. You have to move someone. That’s it, and you can do that with a ballpoint pen, if you want to. Great post ❤

Deranged comments preferred

