When It Stops Snowing I’ll Stop Posting Snow Photos

On the way to work today, they stopped the tube and changed the route midway.

We all got off the tube when we heard the muffled, barely audible, intercom message.

(As a general rule, always get off the tube even if you can’t hear the message.)

An older, slightly deaf lady had paused near the tube doorway, hesitating.

She asked me what the message said and I told her the train was going to Victoria.

She couldn’t hear me, and stepped forward a bit more.

I repeated,

“This tube isn’t going to Hammersmith anymore. It’s going to Victoria now”

Simultaneously, I was also vaguely waving my arms at her, to induce her to step forward and get off the carriage.

She still couldn’t understand and stepped forward a bit more, craning her neck to hear me.

Just at that moment, the tube doors closed, leaving her head firmly wedged in-between the doors.

A man near by leaped to help me prise the door open off the poor lady’s neck. (Which is hard!)

He comforted the stunned lady, saying the same thing happened to him too.

Who knew head-in-tube-door-wedges happened so often?

Bag – yes, Coat – yes, Arm – yes,

Head?

Trees on Triangle Hill

Trees on Triangle Hill

Top of Triangle Hill

Top of Triangle Hill

Snowy bench

Snowy bench

Fir leaf

Fir leaf

Rock Garden

Rock Garden

Birds around a Lampost. Lamposts and snow always remind me of Narnia.

Birds around a lamppost. lampposts and snow always remind me of Narnia.

Another snow photographer

Another snow photographer

Yellow Willows

Yellow Willows

Branches near a wall

Branches near a wall

Fluffy Seed

Fluffy Seed

Lampost by a white road

lamppost by a white road

Grey Sky and Pigeons

Grey Sky and Pigeons

Cold Duck

Cold Duck

Canal Park

Canal Park

Canal Park Bench

Canal Park Bench

Red Telephone Box

Red Telephone Box

16 thoughts on “When It Stops Snowing I’ll Stop Posting Snow Photos

  1. Never got my head stuck in a tube door, just my shoulder bag which left me pinned to it with an enforced hunchback for 3 or 4 stops before the door finally opened on MY side of the carriage.

    • Wow. No mobile! You have held out well.

      I have a fear of pay phones. I find them impossible to use. These are still around only as decoration and for someplace to stick the hooker flyers. I don’t know anyone who uses them as much anymore.

  2. Scrolling through the photographs, I was thinking to myself: “I should ask her, was the day really this overcast or were you going for monochrome lighting? It almost looks like ‘Schindler’s List’.”

    –That’s a stupid question, I chid myself. it’s a cold, overcast winter day. Then I came upon the phone booth the moment after I mentally referenced “Schindler’s List” (a dreadfully middlebrow movie, btw).

    So I suppose the question stands. The fences and the walls are kinda Auschwitz-y.

    • silly silly. Very silly. If only I COULD control the weather. Have it sunny, warm and snowing at the same time.

      These are actually the inner city pretty set, the Westbourne park ones really look like a horrible prison in fact.

  3. Is it weird that I laughed my head off for a full five minutes at the thought of a poor old lady who was very obviously hard of hearing, with her head firmly wedged between the doors?

    That said, Im having major winter jealousy seeing this series of snowiness. Not. Fair. Boohoo.

Deranged comments preferred

